Our Crazy Christmas :)

I’m sure most of you reading this are probably thinking that you have no time to do anything at the moment.  Even reading this is pushing it because there’s only X amount of time until its Christmas.  Its the same day every year but I feel like it sneaks up on all of us every time.  That doesn’t make me any less excited for the holiday season.

Christmas is by far my favorite holiday and time of the year.  Don’t get me wrong, I love summer weather,  I love shooting in the fall leaves, but the Christmas season just brings an extra warmth in our home and in my family’s.  At 22, decorating the tree and making ornaments and everything else still brings way more joy to my life than to most.  I am that person who is constantly asking if I can open just one present or more often than that, asking if I can give someone else one of theirs early.  From the stories my family has told me I’ve always been horrible about that.  The running joke is “If you like puppies and you like calendars, you’ll like your present.”.  Apparently at a very young age I showed the signs of having no patience. 🙂  I was always the child that was sneaking downstairs in the middle of the night or looking over the banister at my dads.  I can remember watching the clock with my brothers because we weren’t allowed to open gifts before 5 am because  you know if it was up to us it would’ve happened at 12:01.  I’m still like this today.

Unlike most, this busy time of the year and the pure excitement have pushed us to somehow miraculously have our shopping done the week of Thanksgiving.  With that said, we will still be just as crazy as most all the way up until the day of.  I become even more child like this time of the year.  We may “only” have fur babies and both be in our twenties, but we will spend Christmas Eve watching old Christmas movies and reading Twas The Night Before Christmas.  We also sleep on the floor in the living room.  Last year we opened presents at 5am because even at 21 I couldn’t wait any longer.

Anyway! Point of all of this! I hope that each and every one of you reading this takes the time to step back and enjoy your holidays and families.  If you have small children I hope that you are the “crazy” parents that are just as excited if not more than their kids on Christmas morning.  I hope you all spend your holidays participating in whatever traditions you have developed.  Enjoy it! Yes, there are always times that in preparation we want to pull our hair out.  You run out of tape as you’re wrapping the last presents, the cats are climbing in the tree, you can’t find that one present you thought you bought but now aren’t really sure if you did, etc, but at the end of the day your kids or grandkids or yourself will never celebrate this Christmas again.  Live life in the moment and make sure you take time to enjoy all of the holidays this year!

Merry Christmas from our family to yours!

Leave some love!

